Places to Send Students in Search of Religion Blog Topics

UPDATE- This post has been updated with new sites. (2/20/2014)

I gave a couple of talks around Emory last week about my experience teaching with social media last semester. In the wake of those I’ll be posting some resources for folks looking to use blogging or Twitter in their classes. Here is a list of good sites I recommended to students for looking for articles/posts to write their posts about. While I didn’t require them to use these, almost every one of them did and they had great results.

Sacred Matters: http://scholarblogs.emory.edu/sacredmatters

Sacred Matters twitter feed: https://twitter.com/sacredmatters

Religion & Politics: http://religionandpolitics.org

Religion Dispatches: http://www.religiondispatches.org

CNN Belief Blog: http://religion.blogs.cnn.com

NY Times Religion: http://topics.nytimes.com/top/reference/timestopics/subjects/r/religion_and_belief/index.html?

NPR Religion: http://www.npr.org/sections/religion/

Religion News Service: http://religionnews.com/

Huffington Post Religion: http://www.huffingtonpost.com/religion/

Religion in American History: http://usreligion.blogspot.com

The Immanent Frame: http://blogs.ssrc.org/tif/

The Revealer: http://therevealer.org/

Killing the Buddha: http://killingthebuddha.com/

The Anxious Bench: http://www.patheos.com/blogs/anxiousbench/

American Society of Church History- History of Christianity: http://www.churchhistory.org/blogs/

John Fea, The Way of Improvement Leads Home: http://www.philipvickersfithian.com/

Warren Throckmorton: http://wthrockmorton.com/

About these ads

2 Comments on “Places to Send Students in Search of Religion Blog Topics”

  1. I have a number of other media sources both local and international. Also a few related to Religion specifically like NPR Religion, Immanent Frame, and Tricycle.
    http://homepages.gac.edu/~kpeter15/Gustavus/New_Media_Project.html

  2. theologyinactionobr says:

    Thanks for the resources!!!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,969 other followers